Lost in Translation

I once never understood Charlotte’s feeling in the film ‘Lost in Translation‘. For me, Japan is one of my most favorite countries for travel. Things in Japan; Attractions, Food, Shopping, People, Culture and etc., always fascinate me. When I watched the film, I always thought that if I were Charlotte, I would spend my spare time taking the journeys to a lot of places in Japan. I would never feel lost in anything except getting lost.

On the other hand, when I have been in Paris for 4-5 Days. I didn’t look into information about France that much before going there since our group has one French guy, who is my best friend’s husband (fiance at that time). He was a great guide which he helped us a lot by translating from French to English. However, during Paris moment I frequently thought of Charlotte. How she felt … it came to me too as I felt something missing. I wasn’t sure why I thought like that. Was it because of the fact that I couldn’t understand French or I had a lot of things on my mind.?

Actually, that trip took around 2 weeks starting from England, and then taking Eurostar to Paris. Two weeks away from Thailand, I sometimes was with my friends while sometimes I was with myself. I think when people get a chance to be alone in an unfamiliar environment, they could see something clearly. It happened to me. I started to realize what I always want for myself, and how I let fear to control my decision. Whereas once in my life, I was never afraid of being alone. I, myself, shouldn’t endure some difficulty, just because of the prospect of solitude for the rest of my life.

The trip ended. I went back to Thailand with the final decision. Eventually, I was able to let one thing go. The thing that I really hoped it would work out, sadly it wasn’t.

@Jardin des Plantes, Paris, France 2011

And the hardest part
Was letting go, not taking part
Was the hardest part

And the strangest thing
Was waiting for that bell to ring
It was the strangest start

– Coldplay “The Hardest part” –

2 thoughts on “Lost in Translation

  1. Pingback: Travel theme: Beaches | Completely Disappear

Leave a Reply

