Single and I know it.

Last month I came across this article ‘Single and Childless: I Know What You’re Thinking‘ which I think some ideas seemed to speak my mind. Recently, I’ve just finished watching the Japanese drama called 結婚しない (Kekkon Shinai) or the English name is ‘Wonderful Single Life’. Actually, the Japanese name can be directly translated to ‘Not Married’. It was about three main characters: a 35 years-old single woman who wants to get married someday, a 44 years-old single woman who doesn’t want to get married, and a 32 years-old man who can’t be married. I think I could understand the 1st character because she and I are in the same age range with the similar idea.

I’m not sure about the current situation, but from my growing up we generally don’t have the dating culture here in Thailand. In Thai culture, women should not firstly show attention on men or flirt with them. Women shouldn’t try to go on dates with different guys to see whether they could be compatible or not. The opportunities to meet someone lie in classmates, colleagues or circle of friends. It seems that women cannot choose the one whom we’re really interested in, but we have to wait for guys to make the first move. If he is the right guy, they can see the future together. But if he isn’t, men could move on to another one while women need to consider their ages. Since guys can marry to a much younger one while women can but we shouldn’t do it. That’s why Thai women have more potential to be singles than men.

Although I don’t think I have to get married, I think it’s good if we have someone to share the happy and sad moments together especially go travel. And in Thai culture, we should be married in order to have something like that. Unfortunately, as I’ve reached to the certain age that most of my friends or co-workers get married and have children of their own. The chance that I mentioned in the previous paragraph is getting scarce. That’s why I could come up with the notion that I will continue the single hood for sure.

At first, it’s a bit scary to think that I might die alone in the bed surrounding with cats eating my body. Too melodramatic? Maybe? It’s just the normal state in our life to feel insecure with the future. But I realized that I just need to prepare myself to grow old and need not to be scared. I just hope that I will be able to be the wise old woman who have a good health to do a lot of things. An old woman who has her brother to talk to or rely on once in a while. An old woman who still holds the good relationship with her married best girl friends. An old woman who may live alone but not lonely. Yes, that’s me someday.

Leave a Reply

