Oscar

I like watching movies since I was a kid although I didn’t have many chances to watch films in theaters. When I was a kid, I watch Thai films. I started to watch foreign movies when I was a teenage. Usually, I see them on rented videos. I also liked reading movie magazines which I bought with my week allowances. I changed to watch movies in theaters when I was in University. The activities that we used to do with our friends. I kept going to see movies in theaters until  DVDs started to get attention from me with their packages and box sets.

During that time, I also liked watching Oscar ceremonies lived in Thailand’s cable TV. Up to the point that I was so crazy about these events, and I just wanted to skip work for staying at home and watching it live because the shows would be held on Sunday night in USA which was Monday morning in Thailand. How crazy I was.

However, I finally stopped the infatuation. I’m not quite sure the reason why I could do that. But I think it’s from some moments that I thought this award result disappointed me so much.

  • Moment that Gwyneth Paltrow won an Oscar for Best actress for Shakespere in Love instead of Cate Blanchett in Elizabeth (1998) (I was totally captivated by Cate’s performance in that film while I thought Gwyneth did a good job but she couldn’t make me feel like when I saw Cate as Elizabeth).
  • The same year, when Shakespere in Love won Best film instead of Saving Private Ryan.

Actually, I still followed the Oscar for 2 or 3 years but not crazy as before though. However, there was one movie that made me realize something about this award. Its name was ‘Shawshank Redemption’. This film was released in the same year of Forest Gump (1994). I remembered that I wholeheartedly supported Forest Gump in that year’s Oscar nomination, and I had never seen Shawshank Redemption. I recalled that I was very pleased with the Best film’s result.

I couldn’t pin point what year I had a chance to watch Shawshank Redemption but I though it was much later than 1994. I watched it on VCD player at my home and I was totally into it. This film went straight to the number one of my all-time favorite movies. In additions, I recommended it to my family and friends. And then I thought that why on Earth this film didn’t win Oscar in that year? It was nominated for 7 categories and not win any one of them!

If I was asked whether I still liked Forest Gump or not, I would have said ‘Yes, I still liked that film’. However, Shawshank redemption left a big impact on my personal thoughts. It changed my perspective on lives. While I am writing this blog, I can still rewind some scenes, dialogues, Andy’s facial expression (Tim Robbins totally deserved some recognition for his performance in this film), and the emotion that I got from watching this movie.

From those moments, I came to my sense that the Oscar is just an award ceremony that is held by some organization and it can’t represent my opinions on any films I’ve watched. Anyway, I still follow the Oscar by reading news or watching some footage on Youtube. But, I am not that eager to see it live or anything since I rarely go to movie theaters in this recent years. I mostly watch films on DVD so sometimes I don’t see any Oscar’s nominated films before the award ceremony day. For me, Oscar is just one of many awards in the World of entertainment.

 

TheShawshankRedemption-Still141

One thought on “Oscar

Leave a Reply

