Plant Nanny

When I participated in this year’s health check-up program at my company, I was told by a doctor that I should try drinking a lot of water. Actually, I used to not like drinking water before but I tried to improve my habit by forcing myself to drink at least a bottle of water (around 500-600 ml). Thus, I’ve changed to like drinking water. However, I tend to forget to drink water when I am busy at my job. So I eagerly installed this mobile app called ‘Plant Nanny’ on my iPhone when my colleague told me about it.

Plant Nanny, Plant for Fun & Health

Plant Nanny combines health with fun to remind you to drink water regularly.
The cute plant keeps you company every day by living in your phone.
In order to keep it alive and help it grow,
you must give it water at certain periods of time.
– From Plant Nanny

I just installed it 3 days ago and it did help reminding me to drink water. From its calculation, I need to drink water around 2,200 ml per day. I choose my 480 ml Vacuum flask as my drinking bottle. I therefore entered 500 ml container in the app. Then it calculates that I needed to drink 5 times a day.

Every time I finish the whole bottle, I will go to app to water my plant. The nice sound that plays when my plant gets water makes me feel happy. The plant itself is very cute. The app will remind me every 4 hours if I forgot to drink or click watering the plant. This app needs us to be honest with ourselves because it can’t know for sure whether we drink water for real or not. I also get a hard time to finish my flask 5 times a day. Mostly, I try at 4 times.

Right now my plant, which is cactus (there are 3 choices of plant: Cactus, Devil’s Ivy, and Dandelion), has grown bigger and own three flowers. Looked adorable.

cactus

One thought on “Plant Nanny

Leave a Reply

