Travel theme: Smoke and Mirrors

Usually, I haven’t taken photos of smoke that much. It quite took time for me to explore my travel photos trying to find pictures that would match this week’s travel theme from where’s my backpack?.

Lucky for me that I could find some photos to post here.

Smoke

Nagoya, Japan, 2008

Nagoya, Japan, 2008

The first one was from when our family took our grandma to visit my brother and travel in Japan. My mom had watched a show on Thailand’s cable TV before we went to Japan. The show was talking about famous restaurants in Nagoya where we would stay with my brother. My mom took a note about those well-known food shops. So the first day that we went to see Sakura (Cherry Blossom), my mom asked my brother to take us to eat at one of  her list of restaurants. This one is Yabaton where is famous for their Misokatsu (pork cutlet with miso sauce). And our family agree to the their fame because all of our ordered dishes were really delicious.

 

Singapore, 2012

Singapore, 2012

Last year, I went to Singapore to see Sigur Ros concert which was held at Fort Canning Park. Undeniably, concerts normally uses effects on light, sound and smoke to help creating the right atmosphere. This concert also uses the same means to arouse audience to stay connected to the band. It was an exhilarating experience for me.

 

Mirrors

Tasmania, 2006

Tasmania, 2006

I think water is the great medium to act like mirrors. When I was in Tasmania to study my English language course, I always took my time to travel during weekend. This shot was one of my trips during that time.

 

Washington DC, USA, 2012

Washington DC, USA, 2012

During April 2012, I’ve visited my best friend who is now living with her husband in the US. She and I went on a road trip from her home in Virginia. Washington DC was my last city before I flew back to Thailand. This shot was the reflection of Korean War Veterans Memorial on the marble wall. I was amazed that marble could provide reflected image for the memorial which looked like a painting.

 

Tokyo, Japan, 2013

Tokyo, Japan, 2013

My friend and I found this clothes shop in Kichijoji area of Tokyo during my recent trip to Japan in the beginning of Mar 2013. The shop is located in the 2nd floor which there are many mirrors along the stairway. Their decoration is unique and could draw our attention to get to their shop.

 

Nakasendo Hiking, Japan, 2010

Nakasendo Hiking, Japan, 2010

The last one of mirrors was taken by my best friend (Nanya) during our walks in Nakasendo Hiking. I truly loved this photo because it reminds me of my happiness time during that walk. The weather was great with sunlight but not hot. The trail wasn’t too hard for us and we had chances to walk past the old towns, houses, woods, small road with Sakura pattern on its surface, canal, bridges and more. It was the memorable moments for me.

Leave a Reply

