You learn

I found an article from the page I liked while I was reading through my Facebook wall today evening. The article is about something Alanis Morissette would like to say from her butt. I’ve never seen news about her for a long time and I surely wanted to know what was it on her backside.

As I saw her news, it reminded me of the time when I was totally in love with her Jagged Little Pill album. I believed that I firstly saw her music video on MTV or Channel V from our cable TV. If I remembered correctly about that year, it might be around the beginning of music channel era in Thailand. I was a university student at that time , and I was in the initial state on the discovery of new music artists along with new genres.

The song was her debut You Oughta know. I was astonished by her emotional hoarse voice, and then I was also surprised with the word choices in the song after I read the lyrics (of course, I couldn’t catch all words in the song as the most difficult thing for me who doesn’t have English as the 1st language is to understand all of the words in lyrics just by listening to the songs, but I’m getting better).

I think it was my first time to listen a song with the F word in the lyrics and it was kind of amusing for me because when we studied English language in our school we knew what its meaning was. And we rarely hear the Thai word with the same meaning in our songs. So I felt like my little world has gradually expanded and it was great!

I loved her angst from that song which I think it was raw as I could feel what she tried to convey through her song. I bought her album in cassette tape and I immensely loved all of the songs in that album. Although I haven’t listened to that album for more than 10 years, I still remembered some songs that might cross my mind once in a while which are Ironic and Hand in my pocket.

Ironic that I think of the Music Video.


 
And the verse from Hand in my pocket.

What it all comes down to
Is that everything’s gonna be fine, fine, fine
‘Cause I’ve got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is giving a high five

I could finally buy the CD album once I earned my own money after those days that I repeatedly played the cassette album in my Walkman.

You live you learn
You love you learn
You cry you learn
You lose you learn
You bleed you learn
You scream you learn
 
You grieve you learn
You choke you learn
You laugh you learn
You choose you learn
You pray you learn
You ask you learn
 
You live you learn

You Learn by Alanis Morissette –

One thought on “You learn

Leave a Reply

