Creep

Creep is the song by my most favorite artist ‘Radiohead’. It might be considered as the most well-known song from this band for general audiences but it isn’t my most favorite choice from the band. None the less, I think this song will never feel old despite being released since 1992.

Radiohead released “Creep” as their debut single in 1992, and it later appeared on their first album, Pablo Honey (1993). During its initial release, “Creep” was not a chart success. However, upon re-release in 1993, it became a worldwide hit. Attendees of Radiohead’s early gigs often exhibited little interest in the band’s other songs, causing the band to react against “Creep” and play it less often during the mid-to-late 1990s. In 1998, halfway through their OK Computer tour, the band dropped the song from set lists altogether. “Creep” was not played live again until 2001, but it has since reappeared several times on the band’s live sets.

Source

As a fan of Radiohead, I can truly say that I could listen to all albums without getting bored. And it’s quite weird that I would feel better by just listening to their album every time I feel sad or emotionally beaten or simply bored. Usually, I will choose ‘The Bends’, ‘Kid A’ and ‘Amnesiac’ as my mental healing. The 1st album ‘Pablo Honey’ is scarcely my choice. So I haven’t got a chance to revive my thought related to ‘Creep’ that often.

Why does it reach to many listener? I think it is from the lyrics that can represent the feeling of alienation. I believe that once in a while we can feel out-of-place. We could be the one who doesn’t belong here. When I listen to the song, I feel like I could relate to the lyrics at some point. And that might be the same react from others whilst listening to the song.

I don’t care if it hurts
I want to have control
I want a perfect body
I want a perfect soul
I want you to notice when I’m not around
You’re so fucking special
I wish I was special

But I’m a creep
I’m a weirdo
What the hell am I doing here?
I don’t belong here

Creep has been covered by a lot of musicians, some are famous while some aren’t. I think the recent cover version that gains a lot of attention is the one by Scala & Kolacny Brothers (Belgian Women’s Choir) in ‘The Social Network Trailer (2010)‘. This trailer is an example of the powerful mixture between song/lyrics and movie scenes. Like I could repeatedly watch the trailers and feel the thrill comes from it. It also shows how timeless Creep’s lyrics can be.

I created the playlist that includes 15 versions of Creep. Some cover versions are so different from the original one which I think they are awesome.

Song List

  1. Radiohead – Creep (Album Version)
  2. Radiohead – Creep (Acoustic Version)
  3. Radiohead – Creep (Live Version)
  4. Scala & Kolacny Brothers – Creep (Choir Version)
  5. Glee Cast – Creep (Drama Version)
  6. Richard Cheese – Creep (Crooner Version)
  7. Frank Bennett – Creep (Big Band Version)
  8. SKAndalous All-Stars – Creep (Ska Version)
  9. Karen Souza – Creep (Jazz Version)
  10. Carrie Manolakos – Creep (Ballad Version)
  11. Macy Gray – Creep (Macy Version)
  12. Korn – Creep (Unplugged Version)
  13. Damien Rice – Creep (Acoustic Version)
  14. Tears for Fears – Creep (Slow Rock Version)
  15. Edmund Welles – Creep (Quartet Version)

Remarks: Some versions replace ‘Fucking Special’ with ‘Very Special’ according to the release for the US radio replay.

This post is in a response to Frizztext’s Letter C for the A-Z Challenge.
Thank you to wpbtips for the method to insert youtube playlist into the WordPress blog.

3 thoughts on “Creep

  1. “Optimistic”, from “Kid A” is probably my favorite Radiohead song. Thom Yorke’s duet with Bjork, “I’ve Seen It All”. is up there.

Leave a Reply

