Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 2 – HDR and Saturation

I’m still learning how to shoot with my new camera, FujiFilm X-E1. Yesterday (21-Feb-2014), I tried to capture a bird holding on the roof of our neighbour’s house. I was at the balcony on the 4th floor of our home in order to photograph the sky and clouds. However, I couldn’t capture what I wanted to do, then my eyes had caught this little bird and I therefore changed my mind to snap photo of the bird instead.

Too bad, the photo quality wasn’t that good because the light wasn’t enough. Moreover, there was a part that was in a shade which showed in the photo as dark area. I believe that HDR might be able to improve the photo quality. So I transferred the photo to my iPhone and used an application called ‘SnapSeed’ for the HDR filter and adjustment.

In my opinion, the output was quite acceptable even though the colour in the shade seemed to be unnatural. However, we could see the bird and overall picture clearly after the adjustment.

birdafterapps

Compared to the original photo.

birdbeforeapps

This post is an entry for weliveinaflat and Firebonnet‘s Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 2 – HDR and Saturation. You can follow the challenge’s link to know more about HDR and saturation which the hosts have really provided the theme’s interesting information for us.

19 thoughts on “Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 2 – HDR and Saturation

  1. The bird was spying on you! :P If I looked closely at the original photo, I can see the dark reddish patches in the shadow, that unfortunately showed up very clearly as pink patches in the photo that you processed with HDR Scape. That is the downside, it does show up things, the bird included, sometimes a little too well :P Thank you for sharing :) I know when I work on something often, I do get better at it and I know you will too ;)

  2. Pingback: Snappy H'appy Photo Challenge Week 1 - Bokeh | We Live In A Flat
  3. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 2 – HDR and Saturation | We Live In A Flat
  4. I do enjoy that I can use something like the HDR or Dramatic effects in Snapseed to help a shot that otherwise is too dark. In your HDR edit I saw the lines of the roof mirrored in the clouds diagonally much better than the original. And the whole thing has a much warmer glow. And of course the bird is a happy focus! I’m happy to be leaving HDR week behind me! lol

  5. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 3 – Watercolour apps | We Live In A Flat
  6. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 4 – Cutouts | We Live In A Flat
  7. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 5 – Light Leak Effects |
  8. I noticed the change both in the detail/roof color and yes in the clouds too! Snapseed really helped. Snapseed also has a specific adjustment for shadows that can be applied just in the area of the photo you want it applied to, which is a nice feature. Love Snapseed!!

  9. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 6 – Colour Filter |
  10. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 7 – Turn your photo into a Sketch |
  11. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 8 – Mirroring |
  12. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 9 – Double exposures |
  13. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 10 – A Pop or Splash of Colour | WeLiveInAFlat.com
  14. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 11 – Text on photo | WeLiveInAFlat.com
  15. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 12 – Mix It Up | WeLiveInAFlat.com
  16. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 12 – Mix It Up | Completely Disappear
  17. Pingback: Snappy H'appy - almost near the end | WeLiveInAFlat.com

Leave a Reply

