Where’s the heart?

FujiFilm X-E1 18mmF2

FujiFilm X-E1 18mmF2

I’m still working on creating Bokeh using my new camera. Usually, nice Bokeh is in circular pattern. However, I’ve seen photos with heart and star Bokeh shapes in the FujiFilm X-series group on Facebook. The photos owner also provided the explanation for others if anyone is interested in. Actually, I think this photography trick has been popular a few years ago. Nevertheless, I never thought to play with it like this time.

Honestly, I got 4-5 decent photos from 200-300 shots that I’ve tried. The above photo was one of acceptable results. And I’m not sure how to do that for the next time. Still, I believe that it will do the trick if we have a good light source as a background of our subject.

For the next time, I think I will follow the steps on this URL, this one, or this link. They seem to not too hard to follow if I have free time to do so.

5 thoughts on “Where’s the heart?

  1. For nice bokeh, use your widest aperture ( e.g. f2) on an isolated subject with a much separated background including several light sources. If you do the same shot with the narrowest aperture (e.g. f16), those same distant light sources will turn into stars.

Leave a Reply

