Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 8 – Mirroring

I believe I have said a few times how I’ve enjoyed the challenges from weliveinaflat and firebonnet so far. Every week they would come up with interesting themes. Some were my usual approaches of using mobile’s photo apps. However, some weren’t. Like this time that they’ve chosen Mirroring apps for this week’s challenge.

If last week’s sketching apps was a rare choice for me, this week isn’t my favourite one at all. As far as I’ve remembered, I might have used this type of effect once. I kind of disliked this effect because I thought the outcome was too unnatural. So I could say that this week’s challenge really put me out of my comfort zone. However, I think it was a good opportunity for me to explore an unfamiliar territory of photography effect.

Here’s the original photo which has been taken with my iPhone 5s attached a fish eye lens.
snappymirror01

I first used Camera 360 to create mirroring picture, however I prefer the output of Insta Photo Mirror as I could adjust position of original and mirrored images. The result was as the below image which was a big grinning cat.

snappymirror00

This type of effect turns out to be funnier than I used to think. Thank you to weliveinaflat and firebonnet for amusing challenges. I’ve realised that we could encourage our creativity by stepping out of our self-made boundary. It’s refreshing.

10 thoughts on “Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 8 – Mirroring

  1. I find it pretty fun to walk around with the camera set to preview the mirror image before I take the photo. Before I know it I had spent a full hour in the garden previewing this and that plant’s mirrored view :P Without that, yah the mirroring effect could be less fun :P The Camera360 preview is buggy though since the picture does not come out like what I saw in the preview. Hence, I would recommend other apps over the Camera360 for this particular feature.

    The cat certainly shows me yet again how unexpected the mirror image can be from the original, and I’m glad the challenge turned out to have a positive note for you where it comes to this topic ;)

  2. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 10 – A Pop or Splash of Colour | WeLiveInAFlat.com
  3. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 11 – Text on photo | WeLiveInAFlat.com
  4. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 12 – Mix It Up | Completely Disappear
  5. Pingback: Snappy H'appy - almost near the end | WeLiveInAFlat.com

Leave a Reply

