The Grand Emporium

This Sunday was the 2nd day of long holidays in Thailand. Thai government has officially announced 5 days for our traditional Songkran holidays starting from 12 to 16 April 2014. If you’ve never heard of Songkran holidays, let me explain its description to you by referencing the wikipedia.

The Songkran festival is celebrated in Thailand as the traditional New Year’s Day from 13 to 15 April.

Generally, we will have water throwing as our celebration and I know that this celebration lure tourists to Thailand. However, I don’t like this tradition because I don’t enjoy being wet and splashing water to others so I’ve never participated in any of them.

So what kind of activities do I do during this long holidays apart from travelling abroad? I usually spend my time reading, eating, watching series at home or going outside to eat at restaurant with my family like yesterday. As for today, I’ve spent time building the Grand Emporium with my brother. What was Grand Emporium? It was a LEGO set which was in the same category as the Pet Shop that my brother and I assembled in this post.

Alright, please do not ask us how olds we are. Why do adults like us still enjoy playing with LEGOs? Hey, I believe that some LEGO sets are suitable with both adults and children because of their complexity and detailed-oriented styles like this set.

There were three stories in this department store with the rooftop part. We spent almost 60% of overall times building the first floor due to its particulars such as a person trying pants, shelves of perfumes, a cash register, an escalator, and outside the store.

DSCF7859_Fotor

It didn’t take so much time for us to complete the 2nd and 3rd floors because there were not many small items. However, the process for assembling chandelier has quite amazed me .

The rooftop part also had some awesome items such as the sign board and a cleaning man.

We have spent around 5 hours building this Grand Emporium which we had take a break during that period. The completed Grand Emporium was as the below photo.
DSCF7898_Fotor

We also connected it with the Pet Shop building as they were in the same series.
DSCF7909_Fotor

We hope that we will be able to buy other sets in this series and make them a street of beautiful buildings.

4 thoughts on “The Grand Emporium

  1. Wow, 5 hours to build it. And it turned out to be very grand and lovely, well done. Lego has a soft spot in my heart too. As a kid I started playing with those huge LEGO blocks and when I got a bit older, I started playing with the smaller ones. The one you made looks very challenging, like for adults and not kids. It looks like a great thing to display in your house :)

Leave a Reply

