Daily Prompt: Why, Thank You?

What’s the best (or rather, worst) backhanded compliment you’ve ever received? If you can’t think of any — when’s the last time someone paid you a compliment you didn’t actually deserve?

Daily Post

Last month, I visited my mom’s aunt who kept telling me that I was very cute when I was a kid. She spoke so often that I felt like my grown-up version kind of failed her expectation. I didm’ think she meant to do that, however her compliments made me feel that way.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Why, Thank You?

  1. I think it is a backhanded compliment to say, “I don’t like that kind of art, but I’m sure some people do.”

    This is not quite the same as, “I don’t usually like that type of art, but this is good.”

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Why, Thank You? | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

