Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 7 – Turn your photo into a Sketch

Sketching isn’t my thing when it comes to photo apps on my phone. I rarely apply the sketching filter to photos. So I was kind of intrigued how I could approach this week’s challenge from weliveinaflat and firebonnet for Snappy H’appy which is a Sketch. I tried using the sketch filters in Camera 360 but I wasn’t satisfied with their results. I then searched for other apps in App store, and I came across this app called ‘SketchGuRu’ which I’m kind of alright with its output after testing some photos in it.

SketchGuru is a free app providing around 18 filters ranging from pencil sketching to crayon, color pencils or even water colour. However, the water colour effect doesn’t come out that good comparing with the sketching effect.

I had tried many photos with different sketching filters in this app. I finally made up my mind to use a photo of a tree that I also applied B&W filter to it before changing it to pencil sketching.

Here’s the result.

snhp-sk00

And this is the B&W version of an original photo.

snhp-sk01

I think that a tree’s trunks and branches are suitable for sketching style. That was why I’ve chosen this image as a respond to the Snappy H’appy Photo challenge week 7.

 

13 thoughts on “Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 7 – Turn your photo into a Sketch

  1. Oh yeah… that pencil sketch choice on Sketch Guru really worked well for the tree. smart to turn it b&white first. I love the strong hatching around the edges of the image. Very cool.

  2. A very strong image for black and white sketch ;) When we first got the flat, I had wanted to paper the walls with wallpaper that is of black and white sketched trees heee hee.

  3. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 8 – Mirroring |
  4. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 9 – Double exposures |
  5. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 9 – A Pop or Splash of Colour | WeLiveInAFlat.com
  6. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 12 – Mix It Up | Completely Disappear
  7. Seeing the comments about trees as wallpaper….I once had black & white trees in fabric panels as wallpaper…behind my black piano, and it was very nice.

    Back to subject at hand, these trees do work very nicely as subject matter; I like your challenge entry! Great seeing the before and after photos, and interesting seeing the “background” sketch interpretation with the photo app.

  8. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 12 – Mix It Up | WeLiveInAFlat.com

Leave a comment